Mass Effect 2 and Alpha Protocol ???

cburke82

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2011
So I have a question here. These 2 games are almost exactly the same when it comes to interface leveling and gameplay where thay made by the same people? Mass Effet is Bioware and I know AP was Sega so who is the link? The things these 2 games share are crazy> I played AP first and liked it though it had its problems. Then kept hearing how great ME2 was and when I started playing it I thought I was playing AP2 set really far in the future lol. ME2 does seem to grab my attention a bit more but I find it hard to believe that 2 games that have this much in common could have reviews that are so far apart? Whats that all about?

Nihilis

Distinguished
May 18, 2011
Mass Effect 2 just has immense scope. I haven't played AP, but I rarely stumble upon a gem such as ME2. It may not have the best gameplay in the world, but the story, dialogue and deep, rich atmosphere are what really makes ME2 stand out for a lot of people :)

-Nih

cburke82

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2011

Between the 2 games do you know of any publisher or developer working on both. Its just crazy how much they both look like each other.

easymark26

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010
well Obsidian actually developed Alpha Protocol (Sega published it), Obsidian has worked with Bioware before on Neverwinter Nights 2 and KOTOR 2.
Never played Alpha Protocol, the reviews ripped it apart.
Played and loved the first ME and I cant stop being obsessed by the characters and story.

the same Obsidian that also developed Fallout: New Vegas.

Nihilis

Distinguished
May 18, 2011

I know nothing of the staffing between the two games, sorry :(

A lot of companies copy each others' UIs. Most MMORPGs use WoW's style of UI and menus for example (makes you wonder who Blizzard ripped it off from.)

However if the games were too similar, I'm sure there'd be some sort of law suit eventually.