Need help badly

G

I am new to the forum, and I humbly ask for some help.

I have been building my own systems for over 5 years now, and I have just built my first p4 system and am absolutely stuck. For some reason, the direct3d and OpenGL performance is absolutely horrid on this new system, even being slower than my old p2 system!! I know I have forgotten to do something, but as I am totally unfamiliar with the new hardware, I really need help, please.

The system is a p4 1.4 GHz, ASUS P4T Motherboard, 512 MEG of PC800 rambus RAM, 30 GIG Maxtor 7400RPM HD, Intel 10/100 NIC, Creative Sound Blaster Live!, and a VisionTek GeForce 3 Video card, with Windows Me as the OS.

I made sure that I installed DirectX 8, and downloaded the newest detonator drivers from nvidia’s web site. Performance was extremely choppy on any Direct3d application, and also on the nvidia demos that came packaged with the video adapter. I tried this same card with the same drivers in my pIII 650MHz system, and performance was outstanding. Then I even tried using my old GeForce card in the new p4 box (just to make sure it wasn't the new GeForce3 cadr), and performance was STILL better when the old card was in my pIII 650 machine! I even tried the drivers that came packaged with the GeForce 3 card, to no avail. Hell, I even tried the GeForce3 card on my old PII 450MHz server, and it was STILL faster than the p4!! The ONLY thing I didn’t do is load the Motherboard drivers on the OS, but that was because device manager SAID it identified the new Intel chipsets and hardware on the motherboard.

Did I miss an AGP bus setting of some kind in the BIOS? Do I need to install the drivers that came the ASUS P4T Motherboard, even though Windows Me said it identified everything?

LOL, I guess I should have built an Athlon system….