A7V-133 headaches

G

Hi, and thanks for looking/replying...
I'm about 7 days into this new mboard/cpu.

A7V133 w/1.2G AMD 266FBS 1005a BIOs, 4-1 Via applied.
being broke I've used some of my old stuff..
320mb pc100 mem (2x 128m, 1x 64m)
SB Live Value (latest drivers)
Diamond Viper 770 Ultra (latest nvidia ref.)
Creative 52x cdrom
3com NIC (forget model never really had problems)
WD 8.xG HD ata66 (slave)
WD 30.xG HD ata66 (master)
WinMe, v4.90.3000 (all the updates I could get from MS for it)

HD's are in the IDE primary (not using ATA100 port)
CD is in the secondary IDE

anywho pretty standard stuff, and all worked great with my previous K7V w/800mhz AMD.

Problem(s)
Apps (games actually) crash often, typically with "(someapp)caused an error in <unknown>", or just CTDs. Other apps seem to run great (eudora, IE, utils, etc). I've reinstalled winMe 6 times (ugh), and poked around BIOs a bit (I'm no pro there though).

Basic bios settings:
Using dips..
VIO 3.3v
Core Voltage 1.725/1.75
Bus 12x
Freq. 100 (again, using pc100 mem)

Settings are fairly standard, been using AGP 2x (but currently trying 4x setting, card "supports it").
AGP Drive Stregth - Auto
AGP Fast Write - Enable
Video Memory Cache Mode - UC (it's SDram on the card)
Using "By Spd" on the mem settings (aka Auto)
PCI Master Cache Reading - Enable
Delayed Transaction - Enable
PCI to Dram Prefetch - Enable
Byte Merge - Disable (see below)
Dram Read Latch Delay - Auto
Memory Data Drive - Auto
CAS # Drive - Auto

This all seems stable, except for gaming (which is what I do with this machine). Some games run well, without problems, but others (more intensive) crash with odd errors "...caused an error in <unknown>" or just CTDs.

I tried setting Byte Merge to Enable, but that screws my network connection somehow, so just leaving that off (was suggested in another post to have it enabled).

My PCI cards are layed out as such. going left from the AGP slot: