Need help building comp for SWTOR

xcmoney23

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2011
I will start off stating I am a complete noob at building computers, never done it before. However i have a few friends who have done it before and am looking for some other opinions. Star wars the old republic is an MMO and my comps always seem to be lagging in the FPS department. I am looking to build a computer that will run this game on a high setting for around $700 (if possible). I like having a nice monitor and already have a sound system, so if possible put that into any help given. Here are the supposed system requirements:

CPU: Intel Core2 Duo Processor 2.0 Ghz / AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000

RAM: At least 1.5 GB or better for XP / 2 GB or better for Windows Vista /7 (Note - PC's using built in graphic chipsets 2 GB RAM is recommended.)

Disk Drive: 8x DVD-ROM

GFX: ATI XT800 or better / NVIDIA 7800 or better / Intel 4100 or better.

GFX RAM: 256 MB minimum video RAM, shader 3.0 or better fully compatible graphics card.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks for helping out a noob.

Jay_83

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2011
Well, for starters, let's be clear that a rig from these minimum requirements has no chance in hell running TOR nicely and looking good. It'll be one or the other. Still, for ~$700 you should be able to put together something decent. Look at this kit for example. Clocks in at $676. I DO NOT recommend you buy this specifically, but it'll give you a good idea what components to look for.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.692056

From this combo you'd throw away the case (since you've got one) and the mobo (look for something more flexible than a micro ATX). HDD you can reuse from your current rig. Go for a GTX 560Ti instead of a plain 560. The 2500K is an awesome gaming CPU. The RAM in this kit is very decent.