where to buy

G

hi, i am probably gonna build my own computer and i was wondering if anyone knows of good places on the net to get cheap (but quality) computer hardware? The only things i really need to get are:
a processor at least 1 ghz (i'm thinking prolly an amd athlon),
a motherboard that works for that processor,
a hard drive (20 gb is fine, doesn't need to be big)
a power supply
and a case.

so all i need are the big expensive pieces, i already have a cd drive, A:\ drive, video card, sound card, mouse, keyboard, etc. I'm thinking i can get a really good computer for only a few hundred bucks like this.

so anyways, what would you guys recommend for a processor/motherboard etc. and where to buy them?

BTW, i have never done this before, do all cases fit everything or do you have to carefully look them over to find what's right for your system first?

thanks

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by dummkompf on 07/21/01 11:31 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

tdean

Distinguished
May 4, 2001
well, i think a few hundred buck might be wishfull thinking but you can go to www.pricewatch.com and search mobo/cpu combos... you can go to www.crucial.com for your ram. when you are looking for a case, the retailer will more than likely specify if it is recommended by amd for their processors. enlight makes a nice amd case. you will need a lot of cooling so get an extra case fan for that. i have a few aopen ak73 pro a boards and a few ecs (elitegroup) k7vza boards that are all working flawlessly now that i have applied the via patches in the correct order etc. others have had luck with asus a7v boards. there are a lot of options but the ecs k7vza was rated very high by tom and it only cost ~$80. the aopen board is supposed to be a much better board and the price would indicate that... ~$150. i hope that helps.

G

ok i basically have no idea what you said, but would either one of these be good?http://www.dxmarket.com/pcafterhours/dir/19.html