please help - computer locks up regularly

Nethawk

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I am hoping that someone can help me - my frustration level has reached the point where I am just about to throw the whole thing out the window and start again.

My computer is a homegrown model - before we get into the possibility of stupid mistakes, it must be pointed out that I have been building my own since about 1993, and never had a problem before.

The hardware:
Abit KT7A-Raid motherboard
AMD T'bird 1.33 GHz processor
GlobalWin FOP32 cooler (arctic silver)
512MB Crucial CAS2 Memory (2x256)
Guillemot/Hercules 64mb Geforce2 Pro graphics card
SB Live! X-Gamer sound card
USR Courier v.everything 56k modem (ISA)
Creative 12x DVD
Plextor 16-10-40 CD-R
Antec full tower case - fans galore, 300w ps
Iiyama Vision Master Pro 510 22" monitor, 1280x1024 32bit settings in Win98
Microsoft Intellimouse PS2
CH Products F16 Fighterstick/Pro Throttles/Pro Pedals connected to Creative gameport joystick port
Win98 Second Edition OS

IBM Ultra/100 30gb HDD - Primary master, first controller
Creative DVD - Primary slave, first controller
IBM ATA/33 14.4gb HDD - Primary master, second controller
Plextor CD-R - Primary slave, second controller

All drivers are up to date - chipset, bios, etc from VIA and Abit, all hardware drivers the latest, 12.41 nvidia drivers. I have tried released Abit bios, experimental bios - just about everything I can get my hands on has been tried.

The computer will periodically lock up, not following any specific action, though it seems to happen either during mouse move or typing an address in Internet Explorer window (hmm, both Microsoft products??). The screen freezes, fans keep whizzing, but it will not come back to normal. Only a hard reset will bring it back to life. It will lock up every time when left on with no action for an extended period of time (I can't leave it on all the time).