When are we going to get any games that have

squareenixx

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2011
Significantly better graphics.

I mean I am a 3d modeler and notice that game graphics aren't progressing much at all. I mean anyone can tell that they are staying pretty constant.

So when will we get graphics at least 2 times better than any modern release. So it would need a 6990 minimum to run.

I know I know wait for the next gen consoles but how much better do you think they can make them. I mean next gen consoles would have to at least have the power to max crysis out @1080p at over 60 frames or I consider them a failure.

Game companies are dependent on console technology and pc graphics card development depends on the current PC games which are usually console ports other than a few gems so consoles are the problem here so how much better are the next gen going to be so the pc graphics card companies have a reason to make significantly better cards.

So you want a game that requires a minimum of a HD 6990 to run just to get acceptable performance....

- Let's say the game will cost $40 million to develop.
- Assuming the HD 6990 and nVidia's equivalent represents 5% of the entire graphic card market share. I'm being optimistic, it is actually lower than that.
- The above means you are only targeting at best 5% of all gamers.
- $50 - $60 is the average price of a "high end" game.

In a very simple world with simple math that means in order to breakeven or make money the game would need to sell for $50/0.05 or $60/0.05. That works out to the game would need to sell for $1,000 to $1,200 in order to for the developer to even consider such a project.