Video Game Lag: Solutions?

scher168

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2010
Hi all,

It seems that the past couple weeks/months, my computer has been lagging more when playing video games (mostly Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops). Notably, my fan seems to be much louder then when I remember it, as well as the CPU goes to 100% while playing these games. I've recently applied Arctic Silver 5 on my CPU (as in a day ago from when I wrote this), which may be working, though I might have put on too much (I'm new to computer building/maintenance stuff). In theory, I should be able to play these games without a problem:

Windows 7 SP 1 (64 bit)
AMD Phenom II X4 965
6 GB DDR3 RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 768 MB
Antec Mid-Tower case (don't know the specific model off-hand)

According to HWMonitor (which seems to get similar results to Speccy), my Core temps are around 36 C idle, ~50 C when playing games, and have maxed at 64 C. This is roughly the same for the Graphics Card. "FanIN0" seems to run at 5000+ RPM when playing games and I suspect is the loudness culprit.

So any theories/remedies? Dust buildup? I don't think it's bandwidth since I've got a better connection then awhile ago but am facing worse lag than I remember.

jockey

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2010
Your temps seem to be ok. Try opening task manager (win7 start button, then type "task manager, enter) to see if something like win7 media player is running in the background. Anit-virus sweep. HDD de-frag, to start with. Sounds like your CPU is busy with things it shouldn't be. My system is very similar to yours, component wise, and these few steps fix my lag and 100% CPU usage issues.

scher168

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2010
On closer inspection, I should say that it seems that my load core temps are closer to mid-50s, which I guess is still tolerable.