VIA KT266a

G

I have two questions...first i would like to know if anyone has any confirmed date on when the kt266a chipset will be available to buy online. Secondly...i have never used ddr before so i am inexperienced here...right now i have a budget of $120 to buy on memory...micron pc2100 512mb cas2.5 is about $120 also mushkin pc2100 256mb cas2 is the same price. Should i got with the speed or the quantity. I am thinking of going with speed because in about a month i can afford to buy more.

Thanks for any help.

Bames_Jond

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2001
Speeeeeeeeeeeed! If you got more money later go for speed!.
I heard once that having three blocks of DDR-memory is not good. So if your motherboard supprots it you need to buy so you have either 1,2 or 4 memory blocks of DDR-RAM. I can't remember why it is that 3 blocks is not good and where I read it.

My name is Jond, Bames Jond.

My ACPI incompatible network adapter killed my SB Live!

G

I would also like to know if anyone knows when the kt266a boards will be available, or even if they only have a general idea of when it will happen. If you read my posts about my computer problems, you will know exactly why I am eager to find out :)

tilepusher

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2001
Hey L,
Why are you getting 512mb modules? Do you really need 1.0 or 1.5 gigs of DDR? Why not get 2 256mb sticks? Are you a serious video editor? Crucial PC2100 cas 2.5, 256 mb is $36 USD each, Crucial is Micron. 2 sticks(512mb) at $36 each = $72, 3 sticks(768mb) = $108....still under your $120 budget. About the KT266A, nothing concrete......I too am waiting, at least for real reviews with real retail mobos.
Good Luck
Peace Out..........tile

I'm not 1/2 as smart as I think I am and less than 1% smart as I tell people I am.

G

Corsair (Micron) 256Mb sticks Cas 2 DDR2400 are goin for 65 apiece

:eek: <font color=blue>I for one run Quake 3 on a P133(No MMX)</font color=blue>I have no affiliatioin w/ Intel

pvsurfer

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2001