Noob on BF3 - Need help on basic gameplay

ChromeTusk

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010
I am new to BF3 and I do not even remember the last FPS I played. Would someone please tell (or link) me the keyboard controls setup. Trying not too look like an idiot as I learn to play.

Thank you for helping.

namelessonez

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2009
For the record, BF3 hasn't been relased yet. Only the BETA is out, which if you have, you can get the key mapping from the in-game settings menu.

This is common for all first person shooters. You go to the in-game menu, look for controller settings/ key mappings and there you'll have all the keys listed.

If you are a first time FPS player, try playing some of the other first person shooters. Suggestions:
Battlefield: Bad Company 2
Half Life 2
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 1 and 2

Playing on these games will give you a good idea of the controlls. Plus, in many games the controls are more or less alike. Commonly used controlls:
Move forward: W
Move backwards: S
Move/ Strafe left: A
Move/ Strafe Right: D
Reload: R
Shoot Primary: Left Mouse
Switch weapons: Mouse scroll key
Crouch: C
Flashlight (when available): F
Jump: Spacebar
Sprint: Left Shift
Toggle zoom/ iron sights: Right Mouse

ChromeTusk

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010

I understand it is the beta, but a friend (who is really big on FPS) is trying to get me hooked. I think the last FPS I played was Half Life/Counterstrike and even then I was not very good. Guess I just need more practice.

The other reason I'm trying the beta is to see if my current rig can handle it or if I need any upgrades.

namelessonez

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2009
LG W2252TQ 22in LCD Monitor (Max. = 1680 x 1050)
Viewsonic VA1912wb 19in LCD (Max. = 1440 x 900)
HIS H577QT1GD Turbo(factory clocked HD5770 at 875MHz core, 5000MHz memory)
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE (3.8xx GHz conservative OC)
Corsair CMV4GX3M2A1333C9 - DDR3 1333MHz 2x2GB kit (overclocked using C9 profile)