Preventing DEAD motherboards!

TechGuru78

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2001
I've been a PC technician for 10+ years now. I am thoroughly fed up with experiencing DEAD motherboards! Despite all the efforts to prevent ESD (electrostatic discharge) and large amounts of money invested in high-quality power supplies/etc., I still run into motherboards which stop working for no apparent reason. I've tried countless combinations of memory modules, video cards, etc. The problem still persists: the motherboard fails to do anything. The onboard fan power still supplies power to the CPU fan, and the power supply works perfectly, but no power to the power LED, no speaker beeps,... nothing. There HAS to be more knowledge on this issue. At $100+/motherboard, I'm going bankrupt. All help will be appreciated, but please... no run-of-the-mill replies like "check the cables", "wear an anti-static wrist band", etc. I need advanced help with this. Thanks.

jc14all

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2001
Without much detail pertaining to your hardware brand and setup I can only generalize.

1. CPU not seated properly.
2. M/B trace grounded by case stand-off.
3. Clear BIOS jumper jumpered to clear CMOS instead of normal.
4. BIOS flash crash, causing Boot Lock.
5. Bend or shorted pins on jumpers or cables.
6. Scratches across a trace on the M/B or cracks in the M/B.
7. Faulty power supply.
8. Incorrect type DRAM (pin mismatch).
9. ESD.
10. Human error.

I'm sure there may be something that I have forgotten, but you provide the details and we will try to help.

JC-------<*){{{>{~~~~~
Fisher of men

G

If they work for a while, then die it may well be a heat problem. Normally a fault like accidental short to case, or damage due to ESD will be immediate. (I think ESD is the most overused excuse for failures... Seems like anytime a tech is perplexed, he yells ESD and pats himself on the back for a fabulous find.. BAH!)