First time

lykele

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2001
I'd like to put together a new computer for myself for the very first time. I plan on an Athlon 1.4 CPU and I'm not an overclocker.

My question is which motherboard would be "plug and play". I've read a lot here about tweaking, but not sure I want to tackle that as of yet. For instance, if I plug in the CPU will the board automatically setup for 266FSB or do all of them require going into the BIOS? Probably good documentation with the motherboard would give me a secure feeling. Gigabyte GA-7DX? Shuttle ak31? Epox 8KHA? another?

Any comments? Be gentle, it's my first time! Thank you

RT2002

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2001
A couple of months ago I was a first time TB 1.4G too. I got a DFI AK76SN because it was cheap and I wanted the AMD Host chipset. I found that taking care of the CPU and FSB was the easy part. Mine came with a manual with diagrams for DIP switches. But I understand that many boards have an auto default setting in the bios anyway. I think that maybe you should be considering some of the other features of the MB. Cost? RAM and PCI slots? Chipset? RAID? Fan and Heatsink (if you're going OEM...people will tell you some are easier to install than others). Powersupply? etc... If you're not going to OC you'll be setting up the CPU and FSB once only. The other stuff can bug you forever if you're not happy with them. Good Luck. :smile:

marneus

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Get yourself a DDR board, all current boards are plug & play (just keep UR driver CDs handy)

EpoX 8KHA+ is good, so are the other KT266A boards (for the moment, boards using this chipset are the fastest boards around) boards using the SiS735 are cheap (eg ECS K75SA)& are quite good performance-wise compared to the KT266A and is just as good as the older Kt266, Ali Magik & AMD760 chipset based boards...