Sign in with
Your question

Help with <$1k computer

Last response: in Motherboards
October 23, 2001 11:51:53 PM

Hi everyone, I'm a college student in a bit of a bind. I'm currently doing all my work on an IBM T22 (wish the school offered Dell instead, but oh well) and well, let's just say gaming is less than stellar.. I'm looking toward building a new desktop for under $1000, however I'm not sure which components to take, so here goes:

Mobo: MSI's new NForce or ECS SiS735 board
This will probably come down to a price issue when the NForce is issued. If they're really $150 for the 420-D I'll be in heaven, if they're $250 like some sites are guessing, well, does anyone know ECS's history of BIOS updates? I've never really heard much of them and I want this system to last a while, so I need someplace willing to keep BIOS's updated.

If I get the NForce, video and sound will be taken care of, but if I get the ECS they won't be (AC97.. ick..). So:
Sound: Hercules GameTheater XP or Audigy XGamer
Hercules has the rack which means more space taken up, and it doesn't have a digital audio in for the DVD player from what I can tell. Is 20-40$ more than Audigy.
Audigy has digital audio in, less CPU usage, decent software bundle (PowerDVD comes w/DVD player), but I don't like the currently-disabled content protection thing. Plus 2 free games.

Video: Some GX400 card w/64MB RAM.. maybe GF2 Ti or Radeon 7500? I really need some help with this.

CPU: Athlon 1600XP or 1400, depending on budget constraints.

HSF: I have no idea, I want something light, preferably capable of screwing into the mobo (if those mobos have the holes for it, anybody know?) to prevent chip shearing during transportation to/from school. I won't be OCing simply because if I screw up I can't replace it and the performance difference isn't enough to make it worth my while, however I want a good HSF to ensure stability and a long CPU life, low noise level is an extra.