How does one decide on MoBo?

SirRiff

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2001
Greetings,

I'm fairly new to this build your own computer stuff, so don't expect tech talk from me. HOWEVER, I am a musican planning to build a digital audio workstation (computer that replaces recording studio). Typically, this means streaming 10 channels of 24bit/96Khz into your computer at once (which is massive amounts of data processing).

SO, the althon XP processors are coming out so I figured I would probobly get a 1800 model in the near future. So I hear that the VIA KT266A is perfect for it? THEN its just the MoBO, I did a search on amd.com and Asus came up obviously with serveral others. So, is the A7V266-E an obvious choice? Am I missing something or is it that easy to get compatability and performance these days?

You guys know alot about this, so I simply ask "Have I figured it out?" or is there something better out there?

SirRiff

G

I haven't read anything on the XP's and sound performance. I think it's a safe bet that your largest performance gains and the features that you're looking to make a home recording studion will be in a professional sound card. Anybody have suggestions on the best sound card for a home studio?

G

http://www4.tomshardware.com/video/01q3/010927/index.html

Try this on for size the SB Audigy Platinum ex .. and I would definetly wait a few weeks or so to see what new boards come out...

I am a musican too and im hoping to see *crosses fingers* a decent ddr (w/kt266a chipset) board released without onboard audio.. in the next few weeks

Anyway .. a nice athalon xp 1800 and an "front panel" sporting Audigy card.. a gig of pc2100... should do the trick ... I have a little dinky 4channel mixer I have jacked into my old SB live! and it works wonders ..

Oh yeah .. I said WAIT! for some of the new boards.... the one youve selected could only get cheaper.. and they might come out with something astonishing soon *crosses fingers again*