Will my computer run these games on med/high settings?

aleb

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2011
Hey guys i'm new to tom's hard and..

Well i was just wondering if i will be able to run BF3, BF BC2, MW3, Skyrim, GTA IV, Crysis 2, and dead island.

Next friday I'm getting the AMD Radeon HD 6850 and i was wondering if it will be able to run those games

My specs when i have the card will be:

Asus cg5270
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 @2.5 GHz
AMD Radeon HD 6850
8GB Ram
ASUS P5QL-VM EPU motherboard - my best guess cause' it doesn't actually say it in any specs.
Windows 7 64-bit

I'm also getting a new corsair power supply to actually be able to run the card! 400w isn't enough i guess!

Thanks!

It depends on what resolution you are running at. For 1920x1080 you can definitely do medium/high for all those games. You won't be able to pull off ultra on Crysis 2 or BF3. Ultra settings on Skyrim does seem to require a lot of CPU horsepower, your card may be able to pull it off, but your CPU may be a bit too slow. Skyrim likes having 2 really fast cores rather than 4 slower cores. If you are running at a lower resolution you will see even better performance with the 6850.

As far as GTA IV goes, it is a really badly ported game that doesn't run all that well even on really good hardware. I have an i5 760 at 2.8GHz with a 6870 and the game will still hit occasional lag spikes when played on high settings at 1080p. Maximum settings won't be possible with a 6850 as GTA IV wants at least 1.5GB of video RAM for max settings, making it one of the only games where it is worthwhile to have a 2GB card.

aleb

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2011
Thanks for the quick replies!

Though i'm actually running a resolution of 1440 x 900 haha

but yeah and to jemm... i said 400w isn't enough I guess because that's the one I have right now! :D

I'm getting a 600w psu so it won't be a problem. Yeah, I wasn't expecting Ultra settings with this card... do you think the CPU is bottlenecking the card though?