More Questions on ASUS A7V266-E

lurker

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2001
For the Clear RTC RAM, do you always have to keep the jumper setting off? I'm a little confused, I think you are suppose to leave it off for the first boot and then put it back on. I can't try this because I thought there was something wrong with my processor and I shipped it back...LoL. I should be getting a fresh new XP 1800with in a week.

lurker

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2001
The Question is I don't know the exact procedure to the Clear RTC RAM. The instructions are a little fuzzy, it is my first time building a computer I need a little guidens here. If someone could give me a little more detail inregards to doing this I would really appreciate it, thanks.

G

The manual is backwards, when you clear the cmos you want to short out the pins next to the battery. The easiest way to do this is to use a jumper. Leave the jumper on, remove the battery (be careful it tends to jump out at ya), then put the battery back in , remove the jumper. I always as a precaution unplug my power supply from my motherboard as well as unplugging the power cord from the back of the power supply before doing anything on my motherboard.
Hope this helps!

G