Sign in with
Your question

Whats a good platform for 3D modeling + rendering?

Last response: in Motherboards
December 15, 2001 6:39:42 AM

I'd like to go with a Palomino XP, was considering the low cost Morgan Duron but saw how incredibly slow Morgan benched on the rendering test. It almost seems the Pentiums are better suited to the type of work I'd like to do. I'm a highschool student learning 3D graphics design and am planning on building a new system with skillz I gained from an A+ Certification class. The most sensible Athlon solution seems to be the Soyo Dragon but it scares me that it hasn't got either AMD or Windows XP approval (yet). The K7S5A looks interesting, but it really doesn't have the kind of ram slots I'm going to need for the ram-intensive software I'm going to be operating. A board with on board raid, on board nic, and onboard-anything-else-that-saves-money is also nice as long as it doesn't cause an overall performance hit. A low price point would be nice, but with the sort of features I'm demanding I suppose that's quite an ambitious request.

If my assumption that the Athlon platform would be good for 3D modeling/rendering and other uses that a student and gamer could want is wrong, could someone please point me in the right direction? I'm taking this interesting A+ Cert class and learning all about the particulars of computer hardware and have had some previous knowledge of computers besides, but I've not yet built one from the ground up. Any help with deciding the best solution for my situation would be greatly appreciated.

Current Plan:
Athlon XP 1600+
(?Mobo? SOYO Dragon? Asus A7v-E RAID?)
ATi RADEON 7500 (or maybe the older AIW...)
CRT
IDE 20gb x2 (or maybe SCSI 10gb x1 w/PCI controller)
sound if not integrated in new Mobo
Display Model Case, has front USB (free from friend, stop-gap solution till I come into some money)
AMD approved Power Supply

Old Parts:
Cannibalized CD-RW Burner