Designing a new case.... a quick quesitionaire?

darosu81

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2003
Hi guys,

I am a final year undergraduate studying Industrial design and i am redesigning the computer case... Perhaps some of you would have time to answer some very quick questions to help me on the way?

In a new case you bought....

1).How many 5.25" drive bays would you require?
2).How many 3.5" drive bays would you want?
3).Would there have to be room for every PCI card to accomaodate full-length PCI cards. If No, how many would you want?

List in order of importance (highest first) what you would look for in a new case...

Silent Operation, High Power PSU, Styling, Excellent Heat Dissapation, Ease of Assembling a System inside, Price, Unique Design.

Any other comments you wish to make like things you would like ot see in a new design would also be very much welcome.

Either reply to the post or email me direct on cddrs@lboro.ac.uk

Thanks

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
The biggest thing to remember is that a case has to be very long for any drives below the top of the board to clear it. I have lots of midtowers that simply CAN'T use CD drives in the lower bays because they hit the motherboard before going in all the way.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

lhgpoobaa

Illustrious
Dec 31, 2007
I use 2 5.25" drives, but the standard is usually 2 to 4.

1 external 3.5" used, with a mid tower range of between 1 to 3.

Internal 3.5" drive bays vary alot, depending on the desing and if there is a bottom cage that mounts vertical drives.
(5 drive removable cage in mine)

Order of importance:
Excellent heat dissapation (aluminium + 6 casefans)
styling (blaaaaaaaack) :)
silent operation
ease of assembling
unique design
price