meganova

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2005
my xp with sp1 reboot whenever i access files stored in my maxtor 40G HDD. i have xp installed on a SATA HD and have the maxtor for data storage. but recently when i access any files on it, doing disk scanning or whatever then xp auto reboot.

Sometimes the boot sequence would run in loop as the system reboot itself b4 i can see the desktop. What is happening here, at least i want to go through any log generated.

Scanning the maxtor on another pc shows there is no disk defects and viruses. i had tested the power connectors and IDE cable/ports, no problem at all.

Does xp generate boot log files?

Please help all xp veteran i am still new to any xp stuff.

[seagate SATA and maxtor IDE on A8NSLI]
[nF4 driver 6.31]
[nortan antivirus 2005]
[LG DVDRW on another IDE channel works just fine]

riser

Illustrious
Right click My Computer - Properties - Advanced - Start Up and Recovery Settings.. in there, uncheck the Reboot automatically, plus it'll tell you where your log file is. You can also check out the event viewer for additional information.

Sounds like it might be a motherboard issue.. try updating tot he latest bios version.. possible power supply issue that the PSU can't keep up, thus a brown out or dip in power, causing the computer to power down but power back up during the power dip.

meganova

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2005
Thanks riser

i can now go through the log files but i still need to find a way to understand them.

i have just system restored xp and it runs fine except the same problem occcurs whenever large files are copied from the maxtor drive. Scandisk now run ok.
** Previously the maxtor HDD works like a charm **

Since it now runs without problem, so i dont think it is the problem of psu/power. I suspect it is the software side, particularly drivers or XP messing up any settings.

Any advice on this, could i have tried anything else?