is this an okay power supply

newdude

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2004
will a "Thermaltake W0014 Silent Purepower 480 watt" be a good power supply to run my equipment? I want to make sure this will work good for what i'll be and running some future upgrading. There will be no overclocking. This power supply had the best rating on newegg.

1)athlon 64 3000{socket 754}
2)512 mb ddr400 pc3200 crucial ram
3)gigabyte "GA-K8VT800M" K8T800
4)radeon 9700pro or 9800pro 128mb
5)40 gig maxter harddrive{already own}
6)dvd drive and cdr-w rom

If you can think of a better power supply that doesn't go over $60.00 and would be a better choice let me know. This is my first build so i want things that work good.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Yes

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

bossnoodle

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2004
NO! I bought two of those same ones, returned them because they SUCK. They're SO loud and SO underpowered. Get an Enermax, SilenX, or PC Power & Cooling. Those TT's are junk thats overpriced.

Oh and dont buy a 9800 pro. Get a 6800nu. Almost the same price but you get almost twice the performance.
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by bossnoodle on 12/18/04 02:57 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
I've heard their 480W unit outputs at least 400W, that's not so bad!

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
You know anyone who actually needs more than 400W of real power?

Crey

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2004
I just put this PS in my new computer. Specs are:
AMD 3500 Winchester
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 6800 GT PCI Express