Crysis running ridiculously low on high end system

lawilahd

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2012
I recently started playing around with the Crysis mods in order to improve performance and graphics, and I used the CCC v 2.21 mod at level 6 (the highest setting possible). I'm more than a little annoyed when I figured that the game is running much slower than it should on my system.

My Specs:

i5 2500k OC'ed to 4.4 ghz
MSI twin frozr ii 6950 2gb OC'ed to 840mhz
8 gb kingston hyperx 1600 ram
MSI P67A C43 mobo

playing on CCC 2.21 mod level 6, 2xAA 1680X1050 resolution

I'm only getting around 25-30ish frames on the first level and I've read a lot of posts online of people reporting 40-60 fps with the same settings I'm using but much lower specs, and I'm sure my GPU and CPU should be able to run this game no matter what setting or mod/configuration I use. I know Crysis is still a very demanding game despite the fact that its about 5 years old, but its ridiculous that I can run BF3 Skyrim and Crysis 2 all on Ultra stably but this game stutters so much.

Can anyone help me figure out what the problem may be, I don't think its a bottleneck issue and I checked for latest AMD drivers from the official website and it said everything was up to date. I appreciate any help I can get.

lawilahd

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2012
Well I changed my settings in the CCC mod to level 5 which is still more demanding than very high vanilla settings (from what I understand) and its actually running decently between 45-70 fps. I still don't understand how others with less powerful CPU's and GPU's than mine are able to run level 6 with smoother framerates however, if anyone has any idea please don't hesitate to inform me.

Stringjam

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2011

Turn your in-game menu AA off......EdgeAA is specified in the CCC autoexec, and if you turn on the Crysis AA it overrides it. Since you're only running 2x it shouldn't really be killing your framerate that badly though.