Sign in with
Your question

Steam expeirences

Last response: in Video Games
February 19, 2012 1:19:22 PM

Hello all!
Just out of wonder, as I have never used it before, what is Steam like? Is is better than disc software? Are the rumours about it's loading times and poor stability true?
Thanks for your time in advance.

More about : steam expeirences

February 19, 2012 1:48:10 PM

not really.

you just go to there store, buy the game and it downloads

you can get it to auto-update your games

it can also backup your games to dvd so you dont have to re-download if you re-install windows.

better than having a disk spinning in the drive.

havent had any problems with steam and i perfer it to the stupid drm that ubisoft uses on the assassin creed games
February 19, 2012 2:05:54 PM

I have used Steam for many years (since it launched) and never had any problems with it.

Just be aware that when you buy from steam.. the game is locked to your account.. so you cant resell it on when you completed/bored of it... EVER.
And game prices on steam can be higher than retail (esp at game launch time)... but it does have some great bargins

Convenience is great.. you can go to any PC and play your game (but you will prob have to wait for hame to download).

It now supports clous sync... so even your save games can follow you around to different PC's (not all games... ones that support it... e.g. small save game files).

But in terms of stability.... never a problem. Loading times? it loads as fast as your hard disk allows... so its fast.
If you mean download times... again - if you on dial up and you try download Skyrim for example... it can take a while!!!!
However, I have found Steem to be EXCELLENT in terms of downloads... you are not waiting for their servers... they deliver at full whack... so for my 30mbs conn
even Skyrim can be downloaded in no time.

HTH
Cheers

Related resources
February 19, 2012 3:27:44 PM

the best thing with steam is there offers