Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Cases
  • Cooling
  • Components
  • Product
Last response: in Components
October 24, 2005 8:37:52 PM

I am basically a noob just for reference first off. The first computer I built about 3 years ago I picked up I believe it is a Maxtop case off ebay. It came with 2x 90mm top and side and 3x 80mm (1 front 2 back) fans. Which was probably over kill at the time for cooling for an AMD Athlon XP2100 system.

I am building a new system with an AMD Athlon 64 3500, GeForce 6800GT, DFI nF4 Ultra-Infinity and am looking for a case. I will not be looking at over clocking atm, but I will be using the retail heat sink and fan that come with the processor so extra cooling may be required I don?ft know.

Due to spending so much on parts I am going to have to get one of the cheapest cases out there. I really don?ft care about looks I just need a case that will get the job done and can provide enough airflow to keep things cool period. I am going to pick up everything from newegg.com just to keep it simple.

Now to start off I have a few questions.

Is there any advantage to side and top fans in a case? Will it make much difference if there is only one or the other so far as airflow is concerned?

Does more fans equal a cooler system basically?

If the case has ventilated sides does that affect the air flow going from front to back and overall?

These are just a few questions to get started. Any suggestions and replies are welcomed thanks in advance.

More about : case questions

October 25, 2005 2:21:07 AM

Regardless of price or other quality factors, the biggest thing that hurts airflow is poor design for the built-in fan grille. The more open the grille is, the more air flows through. And the farther it sits from the fan, the less noise it makes.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>