C++ Darts Simulation help!

bananahannahrama

Honorable
Feb 21, 2012
Hello,

My name is Hannah. I am currently studying game design and am in the middle of being taught C++.

We've asked for our first assignment to write dart simulation program which lets player's Joe and Cid take 3 turns each at a non-depicted dart board and play a game of '301'- didn't even know what that was till recently lol.

I have to do the program in two ways: using functions i.e. in C style, and using classes i.e. in C++ style.

I have a little code when I was trying to write a program which would have calculated how many times it took "Joe" to hit the bull in ten turns etc, but other than that, I am thoroughly confused, and will take any help or suggestions I can get.

Thanks everyone.

Hannah x

Hi Hannah,
well first off you need to have a thorough understanding of what you're trying to code.

Personally I don't know what a game of '301' means.

regardless, you need to figure out a few things:

- how will a user (if applicable) interact with the program?
- how will the program output the results?
- what are the main concepts/algorithms behind the game you're trying to simulate?
- what is the main goal of the game? or in other words what are the conditions in order to win?
- what assumptions can you make to simplify?

Coding is complicated and can be overwhelming, but the most fundamental part that helps is having a good understanding of what you're trying to accomplish. Take a piece of paper and write down the key aspects about the simulation that you think you should have in your program. Then see if you can elaborate on each of the key concepts you just wrote down. It doesn't have to be complicated from the start, you can add complexity later.

As is, I don't have enough info to help you further, but I hope whatever I've wrote down is helpful is some way or another. If not, explain what is unclear and maybe I can provide you with some insight.