TRossi85

Honorable
Feb 26, 2012
I've recently built a Rig (I'll post specs on bottom) and I was having no problems until i started playing Terra and Star Wars. My neighbor who's computer is about 6 years old now, runs these games better then mine. We have the same internet from the same company, both connected through Ethernet cables. Anyways while playing these games the loading screens are very, very long. He beats me by a good 30 seconds to a minute. Also while running the game just starts to have a lot of lag spikes then at it will go away come back. I've gone and updated all of my drivers. I just can't seem to find the problem. Any feedback would be great thank you.

GeForce GTX 480
CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX750 (CMPSU-750AX) 750W ATX12V
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155
VelociRaptor WD 300gb
BigFoot Killer controller

If you guys need anymore information I will try to provide it.

ricardois

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2011
first off all you must see what graphics he is playing, if you set the graphics to low settings the game loads will be faster and the frames per second will be higher, so probably he is playing with low graphics and low resolution? try setting your graphics to a low level (same as your friend if you can) and use the same resolution, than you can compare, also be warned that games with DX11 effect will be much more demanding than games without it, if he is using a 6 years old graphics card probably he is not using dx11...

just try tweaking graphics that you will have good frames, see what settings your friend is using than you can compare performance in 2 computers...

agree with ricardois, just because he's loading faster isn't a fair comparison.

get his specs and the video settings he's playing on and compare to yours, I bet you'll find reasonable discrepancies that will explain the load time and performance differences.

TRossi85

Honorable
Feb 26, 2012