extra fans

G

Merry belated Christmas all. I have two questions that I am in need of assistance with. I'm new to this OC'ing business and just had a successful OC. The problem is, my temps are much higher than I want them to be (54 degrees Celsius). Basically my first question is what do you guys think I should do to add some extra/better cooling for the CPU and case? I have an Alpha PAL6035 w/Sanyo Denki 60mm fan. I guess its an adequate HSF, but would anyone recommend something better? since its obviously not powerful enough to handle my CPU temps. What do you guys think about the dual HSF's? they would fit on my mobo (ASUS A7V), but I don't know if they would help much more.

My next question is, I just bought some Panaflo P80L1A fans, why? I don't know, they were on sale for cheap. Well, I was wondering how I would connect these or any other extra fan I might buy to the mobo? As far as I can see there is only one 3 pin plug to PWR the FAN. Is there some kind of connector that connects multiple fans together to share one plug? I also see plugs for CPU_FAN and F_FAN, but I don't know if I could use those or not. And btw, Quiter fans preferred. Thats why I got the Sanyo Denki fan instead of the YS Tech.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

----------
T-Bird 900mhz @ 1030
ASUS A7V KT133 (1005a BIOS, VIA 4in1)
256mb PC133 CAS2 Crucial RAM
Alpha PAL6035 w/Sanyo Denki fan
ATI Radeon 64mb DDR
ATI TV Wonder NTSC
Sound Blaster Live! MP3+
ATX iColor Case
Windows 2000 Professional

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Rider on 12/27/00 06:30 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

Bubba

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
First, keep in mind, the A7V will make the chip run hotter than any other board due to instructions in the bios. So only compare your temps to other A7Vs with bios 1004 or greater.
Second, take the pink crap off the HSF and put some Arctic Silver on the core, this should get you down to the upper 40s.