Solved

Gaming computer, hardware suggestions?

I'm extremely new at learning abou the inside of my computer and so forth. I've been wanting to build a gaming computer for a while, but don't know what to get for the best price that suits my needs. So if anyone could help I would appreciate it. Here's what I would like my custom gaming computer to be able to do:

-play Skyrim on med-high
-play Starcraft 2 on ultra
-be <$1000

I was looking up what I needed but could barely find any info. I know I should have about 6-8gb ram, a good video card, and that's about it. I don't know what CPU I need, although I was thinking either and i5 or i7 (I don't know too much about AMD). I don't know anything about motherboards or the case or anything else so any suggestions on what hardware is best suited for my needs would be greatly appreciated.

P.S I am sorry if this is in the wrong section.
6 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about gaming computer hardware suggestions
  1. Bump
  2. Best answer
    I actually posted this setup in another thread today, but it's applicable here as well:

case - Coolermaster Haf 912 - 49.99
    cpu - i5-2500k - 200.00 after mib
    gpu - gtx 560ti from newegg - 210.00 after mib
    mobo - asrock extreme 3 gen.3 -120.00
    ram - any 1600mhz ddr3 8gb kit - 40-50.00
    hd - any 1tb 7200 rpm - 110.00
    psu - corsair tx650 or similar seasonic/enermax - 89.99
    windows 7 64bit home premium-99.99

929.97 add tax. Better components, money spent in the right places.

If you already have things you can salvage (like a 7200 rpm 1tb hd) then that is money that can be saved and put into better graphics cards. The i5-2500k performs as well as anything else within reason in gaming and is the reigning king for the time being in price vs. performance, and performance in general to a large degree.
  3. casualcolors said:
    I actually posted this setup in another thread today, but it's applicable here as well:

case - Coolermaster Haf 912 - 49.99