Overclocking Newest Hardware

G

I've been running an Abit BH6 with a Cel 300 oc'ed to 450 for about 2 1/2 years. Well it has been giving me problems now and burning up my harddrives left and right. So I'm going to build a new system. I just have a few questions concerning the hardware I should get...

First, the Asus A7V was my first thought for a motherboard, I've heard good things about it but a recent article here says the AOpen AK73Pro is just as good if not better. What are your thoughts?

Second, I thought a Duron 700 was the clear choice. But with the recent new processors coming out I wasn't sure if I should still go with that. Any thoughts on this? Also, I've never unlocked a processor, and I read the article on here about it and I didn't quite understand it. All I have to do is get a Silver Conductive pin and connect the little "dots" on the L1 bridge of the processor? Maybe I should read that article again...

Third, is it important not to use Generic memory? I usually just use generic SDRAM but I heard that that can cause overclocking problems. Any thoughts?

And Finally, for a Video card I was thinking of a GeForce 32MB GX? Anyone have any brand ideas for me to look at? Asus, Leadtek??

Thanks in advance...

berkeljm

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
The A7V is a great mortherboard, however, if you want it to support 133mhz FSB then I would get the A7V with the KT133A chipset. That is the only one (Asus board) that will support 133mhz FSB right now. It does not support DDR memory though. The chipset's right now are not refined enough to make efficient use of DDR memory. If you are going to buy a board right now and can't wait then this is the board of choice. Also DDR memory is a little expensive right now.......Not to mention motherboards that support DDR memory.