Sign in with
Your question

Dead Island overheating my cpu

Last response: in Video Games
March 21, 2012 1:16:44 AM

Ok I got Dead Island yesterday, once i started playing 10 minutes into the game my temps on my cpu go up into the high 90's, like 97/98, so i instantly turn off the game and my temps go back down to normal. I can play Battlefield 3 on my pc in high/ultra and get 60 fps, and its never done this to my cpu. My pc is about a month old, and i play all types of games on it from bf3 to skyrim to WoW. but only dead island causing my cpu to run at extreme temps. My pc build is:
asrock extreme4 gen 3 mobo
evga gtx 570 graphics card factory superclocked
core i5-2500k cpu
16gb of 1600mhz ram
a ocz 500w power supply
antec 902 case

why is this game doing this to my pc, and how do i stop it? I've looked all over the forums and no one seems to be able to give a clear fix. plz help me
a b à CPUs
March 21, 2012 4:34:35 AM

I've seen this problem with others too. Looks like there isn't really a good fix for it.
Is your game patched?
m
l
March 21, 2012 7:06:17 AM

I faced the same issue with my 470. Only, mine crossed 100 and that's what got me very worried. For your 570, the threshold I believe is at 93-95, correct? If you're really too pressed on playing that game, you're gonna have to provide adequate additional cooling for the card (fans, heatsinks, etc).

Have you tried creating a fan profile for the GPU? I made a fan profile with MSI's afterburner software which allowed me to define the speeds of the fan at different temp's. I'm presuming that EVGA will have a similar software. I still feel the temp's are way too high for a 570.

You can also try by reducing the graphics details on the game. I'm afraid just like the Gman above said, there really isn't a good fix for the problem.
m
l
Related resources
a c 117 à CPUs
March 21, 2012 7:47:49 AM

might help if you go back and re-read his problem. its the cpu he is on about...