Sign in with
Your question

You Expect Me To Modify These L1 Things?????

Last response: in Overclocking
February 11, 2001 8:37:59 PM

as the excess use of ???? will no doubt have alerted you, I am a NEWBIE! - any advice/ info will be greatly appreciated :-). Heres my problem: I have just acquired a Duron 750 cpu and a shiny new Asus A7V mobo to plug it into - I have it all up & running as god (and AMD ;-) intended - I want to overclock the 750 to 1000 - i have read the guide on the 'How to' section - and it is my understanding that all I have to do is unlock the processor by connecting the L1 bridges together - by pencil, silver pen or any other of a hundred ways to create 'electrical oneness' - then modify the relevant jumpers on the mobo, as outlined in the guide - bolt on the meanest, badest cooler & fan combo money can buy and then - ITS ALIVE!!!! Mwuhahaha!!!! SWEET! - now, eventually, the question: have i missed any important details? - which is the simplest most idiotproof way of closing the L1 Brigdes? - is it worth doing it? - YES - I know that was more than one question, but im new to all this you see & im English, far too busy drinking Tea and avoiding Dentists to figure all this out for myself :-)

More about : expect modify things

February 11, 2001 8:41:17 PM

The easiest way has to be with a mechanical pencil and some very fine lead (.5mm or smaller). That way, if you mess it up, you can just erase the marks. It's not quite as permanent as the conducting pens, but it'll work.

Why do I even try?
February 12, 2001 2:58:14 AM