Sign in with
Your question

Which Racing game is best on the PC?

Last response: in Video Games
April 13, 2012 3:09:13 AM

I'm looking for a PC based racing game. I used to enjoy Sports Car GT on my old windows 98 PC, but have now upgraded to windows 7. Any suggestions?

More about : racing game

April 13, 2012 3:18:31 AM

I am by no means an expert on this. Stringjam gave me good recommendations when I had the same question. I would say that Dirt 3 is the best, followed by Dirt 2 and Shift 2 in that order. They are all extremely close in quality and fun though.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
April 13, 2012 5:02:34 AM

shift 2 is about the best if you add some physics mods... it looks way better than forza and gt5 where tracks can be visually compared and handling is given a boost by the mod community...
dirt 3 is ok but to be honest doesnt hold your attention as well as it should have...
dirt 2 drives better but looks dated and the dx11 is just an afterthought...
f1 2011 wasnt a bad game... plays very much like an unaltered shift 2 though... but if you put in a little effort you can get the handling to simulate an f1 car propelry... (ie the back will swap ends if you try accelerating through a corner or dab the breaks in a corner like a normal RWD car would)
if you want hardcore sim then Rfactor 2 is for you. the first 1 is pretty damn good but is a bitch to setup and play... 2 will be out in the next few weeks to months and promises a full dx11 experience that will blow every other racer out of the water...
m
l
Related resources
a b $ Windows 7
April 13, 2012 5:12:43 AM

I love trackmania. Really addictive!
m
l
April 13, 2012 7:56:24 PM

heids24 said:
Note that the downloadable version of Shift 2 is on sale for only $5 at Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Electronic-Arts-40624-Unleashed1-...

That's a really great deal......like casualcolors was saying, I really like this game. It needs the handling mini-mod, but after that, it's really a lot of fun.