Silent CPU Fans?

NarN

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2001
Hi all

I recently purchased a new TB 900Mhz KT7A-Raid system. And it is very noisy. Since I'm a coder it should be as quiet as possible or else I can't concentrate.

I have found the noisy part: the CPU fan. It is a Motor-One Ball Bearing 60*60 going 4300 RPM. And in the sheets it says that it produces 34 dBA.

What are good QUIET coolers?

Thanks

NarN

PS: I don't tend to overclock.

--
NarN - Ruling the world

G

The Noise Control Silverado is VERY quiet and still pretty good, but also very expemsive...

worsie

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2001
If you are not in to overclocking, and your CPU temperature is on a healthy level at the moment (below 40°C) you can try to run your fan at 7 volts. Just hook up the ground to the +5V of a molex (4-wire connector) and the plus to the +12V. 12-5=7V. If your heatsink has a sufficient capacity this will pose no problems, and your CPU temperature will only go up a few degrees. This will cause a drop in RPM, and with that also in noise.

G

Those who know, Do all 60mm fans have the same mounting template? Plycon.com has a 28db Sanyo fan someone else was talking about and If so can't he just replace the fan without removing the sink as long as he doesn't apply pressure? He bought not built his system so he probably doesn't know what kind of compound was used and I, not having to deal with possible stickypad cleanup, hard clips, core distruction,remounting, rewiring, etc. would go this way if possible. Bad Idea?

<b><i>"Bad advice is expensive, Good advice is priceless"

mbaha

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2001
Ya you can buy a new fan and put it on there. Sound like a good idea.
mbaha

"Work is the curse of the drinking class"

G

I've been doing a workaround w/ the Sanyo Denki, and a bunch of other fans, and all have analogous mounting layouts. Since the heatsink is held on by a mounting clip/clamp/etc., it's a simple matter of removing the screws holding the fan, and mounting the new one.