OC TBird without unlocking? 56C too hot?

G

I am a complete novice at OC, please bear with me.

I purchased an Asus A7V133 and Athlon TBird 1200C (266FSB). I set the multiplier to 9.0 and external freq to 133. The Asus Probe reports the CPU temp hovers around 56C using a standard CPU heatsink/fan plus two 80mm chassis fans.

I changed the multiplier to 9.5 and the BIOS and WCPUID both report the CPU is running at 1266, but Asus Probe still reports the CPU temp hovering at 56C. Is my CPU really running at 1266? I didn't unlock it. I don't even know what unlocking is. Can I change the TBird multipler without unlocking?

I tried changing the external freq to 140, but the system wouldn't post. Can the external freq be changed without unlocking the CPU? When/why should vcore be changed?

Is 56C too hot? Should I replace the heatsink and fan?

Thanks for your help.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by augusten on 03/17/01 09:33 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

peteb

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2001
Well,

You cannot change your multiplier without unlocking but you can change your FSB (as you have found).

I _think_ in this case that your bios is reporting your cpu speed inaccurately.

Is 56 degrees under load or at rest? Whatever it is, it's really too high. A TBird 1200 is going to take some monster cooling to use and o/c healthily. 56 degrees I'd expect you to have some instability and lower you chip life. Spend the bucks on a good cooler (check the reviews ion THG for this).

Esp if your cpu is running 56 degrees by just booting up (no apps) - don't fire up seti!!!!

Get you TBird cooler - it'll sing for you if you do - esp. that Asus/C combo.

Pete.

-* This Space For Rent *-
email for application details<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by peteb on 03/18/01 12:14 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

phsstpok

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
If you can change the multiplier then your Tbird is already unlocked.