Sign in with
Your question

Best $300 upgrade I can make to improve Skyrim performance

Last response: in Video Games
April 30, 2012 1:13:29 AM

Hello,

I built my PC about 4 years ago and can currently play Skyrim on Medium settings running about 25-30 fps on 1080p resolution. I want to make an upgrade that will ideally bump the settings up closer to Ultra and improve FPS. I'm a complete beginner - not sure which part(s) I should upgrade. I haven't watercooled or overclocked or anything.

Here are my current specs:
2x Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS SLI
Intel Core 2 Extreme CPU X9650 3.0GHz
EVGA nVidia nForce 780i SLI Mobo
4GB DDR3 RAM
Corsair Enthusiast Modular TX850M PSU - 850w

I'm not attached to anything but if I do a GPU upgrade I think I would like to use a single nvidia GPU.

Thanks for any advice!
April 30, 2012 2:04:23 AM

I found myself in a very similar situation to yourself. I have an e8400 core2, and I was able to play Skyrim at about the settings you just specified. I upgraded to an MSI GTX 560TI. I can now play ULTRA settings at full 1920x1080. All on a video card upgrade. The 560TI is about $220 right now. Toms recommends the Radeon HD 7850 for a $270 price range. Check Toms best graphics cards for the money April for that recommendation info.

Since you mention you would an nvidia I recommend the 560 TI 448 core. Cheaper than a GTX 570, and only slightly below the performance.

I was surprised at the increase I received on my system with just a GPU upgrade. Good luck to you!
m
l
April 30, 2012 2:10:04 AM

im surprised you cant max skyrim on them cards but almost any £150 current 6850+ or 560+ will max it... if you want to spend a little more you could get a 570 or 6950 both will push your cpu to the limit so i wouldn't recommend going any higher.
m
l
Related resources
April 30, 2012 2:33:56 AM

neojofa said: