DS3 and CV5 Unexpected computer shutdown

Spires12

Honorable
Apr 30, 2012
Hi you all,

I’m not very technical I’m afraid, but have been having a recurring problem with my computer shutting down unexpectedly, so I would be very grateful for any advice on how to solve the problem.

I’m not sure what information is best to give, so if you are able to help me and I’ve missed something, I’ll do my best to provide whatever you need.

The problem:
While I’ve been playing two separate games – Dungeon Siege 3 and Civilization 5 – my computer shuts down at seemingly random times. Well, it sort of shuts down. The power light stays on and the hard drive starts spinning so fast I think the poor thing would take off if it was attached to something aerodynamic. Otherwise, it is completely unresponsive and my monitor tells me it has no signal input.

My system:
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1
CPU: Intel Core i7 830
Display Adaptor: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series, 2GB (it’s a HD6950 I think, but the exact number disappeared after I updated the catalyst control panel to, unsuccessfully, try and solve my problem)
Motherboard: ASUS P7H55-M LX
Memory: 8GB DDR3 Corsair CMV4GX3N1A1333C9, split into two slots (whatever that means)
Hard Drive: Seagate ST31500341AS
--- All this information comes from a diagnostic program I downloaded from CNET called CIW

Troubleshooting (well, my very poor version of it):
From looking around on various forums, I think the problem may have to do with my power supply (PSU) being faulty/insufficient. Or, perhaps my computer is overheating.