Need Help, Im new to OC

G

Ok I just got a D750 and im running it on a K7VAT MOBO with the VIA KT-133 chipset. The board has switches on it to set the clock higher and a jumper that tells the board to use the MB clock setting instead of the chips, however it doesn't change the speed of the chip. Is that becuz i havn't connected the L1 bridges, i don't know. I've heard of some people who OC without connecting the L1's but i was unsuccessfull. If I do OC my next question is what should temperatures should I want to keep the chip at. right now its running at 80-90F, I have a dual fan heat sink with an orb type design. and two huge server fans for the rest of the system. here are my specs

D750
K7VAT (Via KT-133 chipset)(not a great board i know)
2 PC133 128mb and 1 PC100 64mb for total of 320mb
G-Force 2 MX 32SDR

I think thats all that would have a major effect on the OC, both my HD's are a couple years old so no real heat coming from them. Thanks for any help you can offer

Bombastik

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2001
Ok.... first things first.

If the chipset if a KT-133 (not a KT133a) you'll probably maxx out the FSB at 130Mhz (+/-).

I'm assuming you know about this bridge connecting business! If you don't, please take my advice, use a pencil lead (0.5 HB will do fine) before you regret taking any drastic measures!

OC without connecting the L1 bridges is only possible on some processors (namely the TB1200 and upwards) since they come with the bridges allready connected.

I don't work Farenheiht temperatures (on Celsius) but from what i see 85ºF is good for a D750.

Ok... you should try 1000Mhz or 950Mhz... i think these OCs are attainable with a D750.

As for the temperatures i have a TB1.1Ghz and i get around 47ºC on full load.

Don't believe blindly in what you hear! - Play safe! Play hard!

btvillarin

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2001
Dang...80-90°F = 27-32°C
That's really good...