My comments on the Unreal engine 4 news item

Yaldenski

Honorable
Feb 19, 2012
I'm not sure why I can't comment on the news item, but I wanted to share my point of view/ask my question anyway, as I'm slightly annoyed/quite confused by all the comments to it... http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Kepler-Nvidia-Tim-Sweeney-Unreal-Engine-UE4,15571.html So here goes;

First of all; I have an Xbox 360 and I have my 2600K/GTX560Ti PC. I prefer gaming on my PC. But...

If I was a game developer I would want to create the visually most stunning games possible. I would then obviously want the people who played my game to experience it exactly the way I created it.

If I developed for PC only a fraction of the people playing it would be experiencing it the way I created it as only a fraction of those people would have the cutting edge machines with exactly the right hardware needed. I would guesstimate maybe 2 or 3%, probably less. Probably more than 95% of the people who played my game would be playing it with not all the graphics or physics or whatever options I created it with.

If I created for console, I would be sure that right from release until the very end 100% of the people playing my game would experience it exactly the way I had created it, with the possible exception of lesser quality screens and/or soundsystems.

Sure, it might be slightly less awesome on a console than it could possibly be on the most cutting edge machines that month, but everyone experiencing it the way I created it weighed against 90 or whatever percent of the people playing it at (much) less than how it was created would seem to me a very easy decision to make... Develop for console, forget about PC's.

Maybe I'm missing something, but the above seems to me very obvious and so I don't understand most of the comments to the news item. If someone could explain it to me I'd be very glad.

Thanks very much in advance.

You are correct in your reasoning,