The best perfomance and stability

Hitman

Distinguished
May 12, 2001
I am pretty new at this ,so i hope anyone could help me to get it all right.I wan't both staility and maximum perfomance out of my two systems.

SYSTEM 1:
Intel P4 1.4
Asus P4T
Samsung ECC 800 128x4
Abit Hotrod 100 raid controller
Ibm 46,1 ata 100 7200rpm x 2
Cardexpert Geforce 2 ultra 64
Global win cooler
CLSB Platinum 5.1
Plextor PX-W124T scsi
Plextor PX-40TS scsi
Sevenstream 400w power supply.

SYSTEM 2:
Amd t-bird 1200\266
Microstar K7T-turbo raid
Apacer 256 pc 133 CL3 x 3
Global win cooler
Qantum Fireball 30Gb x 2
Asus Geforce 2 MX dvi
Onboard sound
Pioneer slot in DVD ROM scsi
Aopen 300w power supply

I hope i got it all,so now PLEASE!!!!! help a rookie with a big need for help.

Thanks.

peteb

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2001
Not sure what you are asking. If you want someone to comment on your specs... you dont say what OS, case, monitor or applications your will have either.

System 1 - no comment really as I am not interested in P4 systems right now, however I'd go with the faster 1.7 processor (I think they are only 1.3, 1.5 and 1.7 anyway, not 1.4, but I may be wrong) simply because it looks like you are trying to build these systems to maximum performance.

System 1 - again, bear in mind you'll need a SCSI card for those Plextors.

System 1, are you using your disks in mirrored or striped mode on the raid controller? Just wondering.

System 2.

I would get CAS2/CL2 memory, not CL3. This will significantly increase the responce time and performance from the memory. Get good brand (Crucial, Mushkin, Infineon memory if you want to overclock your FSB beyond 133Mhz) It doesn't look like you are cash-strapped since you are buying 768Mb so...

Why select different HDDs for the two systems, they are both ATA100??? The IBMs are excellent performing drives.