G

Hi everyone.
This is my first time that I have attempted to overclock anything other than my old voodoo 2.

I recently got a Geforce 2 MX but I am finding that my 3D Mark scores are about 3300 and I'm sure that this AGP card with 64 megs of ram should be performing in the 4000 region so I would like to overclock my p2 400 to try and help it on the way.

The motherboard is an intel mobo as far as I can tell 440BX. Bios version 4MP4BOX
I have tried to find jumper settings on the motherboard but there is only a config one and it doesn't help as it has to be reset because it won'tt start up if i change it any higher than the 400mhz its currently set on. I think that's because their is a multiplier lock? Anyway I know that the thing has a bus speed of 100 mhz and has a multiplier of four. Its an old system but I would like to squeeze as much out of it b4 I buy my new system.

I have 192 megs of ram.
Geforce 2MX Leadtek SHMAX
Voodoo 2 (out of system)
SCSI adapter 2940
30 gig + 20 gig IDE drives (This is one thing I know I should upgrade).
Gaming modem 56kbps

Anyway if you need any more information please email me on john_glen_thomson@hotmail.com

Any information about the system would be useful and how best to upgrade it. I have tried FSB but it keeps crashing also.

My system is well ventilated and I can cool it if neccessary.
Only other thing I think I should mention is that the system is out of warranty now so I don't mind trying more in depth techniques- soldering if needs be to get some more out of what has been a good system.

Thanks for your help
John Thomson
PS. I might take a while to reply (the next evening etc) as I am currently revising for exams. Thank's again!

G

Here is an option:

Buy a slocket (pick from among the many out here) with a jumpered voltage regulator.

Buy a Celeron 2 FC-PGA (socket 370) pick from among 500 - 700+ MHz chips (not sure what the highest C2 66 MHz fsb chip is).