Guild wars 2 and my Rig

Solidmustard

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
Hello :) I have a question im pretty desperate to get a solid answer for, I've been playing the guild wars 2 beta's and enjoying them thoroughly regardless of my sloppy-ish rig. I'm not that demanding with super amazing graphics, i just want to keep a steady 40+ frames per sec in large scale events at about medium settings (willing to reduce shadow effects to lowest possible standing) that involve particle effects flaying left and right. So I feel i only need to upgrade and not necessarily buy an entire new machine. ill link my specs below and you throw in your opinion, including what i could change for a fair price (preferably storebought) :D

Motherboard: EG41MF -US2H
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo CPU E8500 @ 3.16GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.8GHz
RAM: 4GB
Direct X 11
GPU: Nvidia Geforce 9500 GT (Slight over clocking 700 MHz core clocking)

Any replies will be GREATLY appreciated. I'm not a hardware proffessional, just someone that will do more than most others to have a steady run with Gw2 and SOLELY Gw2. rest of my gaming will mainly be on a kidsole.

Hello, first of all I'd like to mention that GW2 hasn't been optimized for hardware performance yet, so on release date you might see better performance with your current hardware that might satisfy you.

On the other hand if you're set on upgrading, then we need to know what your PSU make and model is and your ram frequency.

Your CPU should be ok it's at the level of first gen i3 CPUs or PII x4, but GW2 being an MMO high CPU dependancy is expected. So, if you determine that it's your CPU that is weighing you down you might have to upgrade your mobo+ram+cpu.