How to improve gaming experience on Dell Inspiron 17R?

MigoWin

Honorable
Jul 8, 2012
Hello! I'm a little new to PC's/Laptops, but I think I know enough to be able to ask this question with knowledge of what I'm needing answered. Recently I just bought myself a Dell Inspiron 17R with 8gb DDR3 RAM and an intel core i7 processor. I'm not too sure about what I have as a graphics card, which I'm almost positive that I need to know that bit of info in order to upgrade if needed.

In short, I'm running Minecraft on my laptop and I'm needing (sorry about my elementary level needs) spoon-fed help on what I can do to improve my gaming experience. While I play, I run Camtasia Studio 8 to record my gaming, and as I record the audio/video becomes un-synced thanks to a lack of resources going to Camtasia. My gaming experience without Camtasia running is still a bit laggy. Can anyone recommend any fixes to help improve gaming? I'd like my video settings to be set at Medium-High. Thanks for anyone who can help this amateur out! God Bless!

pauls3743

Distinguished
You need a better graphics card. The bad news is that yours is built into the cpu and can neither be replaced nor upgraded.

Although, it has got to be said, the intel cards are getting better they still have a long way to catch up with AMD and NVidia.

all you can do is sell that lappy to get a desktop. hd 3000 are pretty poor for gaming and will choke on any high end offerings. yes you can play sims but wouldnt you rather play battlefield...
who ever sold you that i hope they didnt say it was gaming grade because if they did they ripped you off.
its a media center lappy, good for photoshop, web surfing and video, thats it...

MigoWin

Honorable
Jul 8, 2012

Thanks a million for your reply! Any suggestions on what I should get laptop wise for gaming under 800?

MigoWin

Honorable
Jul 8, 2012