Sign in with
Your question

AMD-XP-thermal compound

Last response: in Overclocking
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 9, 2001 2:27:11 PM

I purchased an Athlon XP-1600 and was following the installation instructions provided on both the AMD website and the instructions included with the CPU. (I am a novice at this.) Both suggested that you remove the tape from the thermal material after you test fitted the heatsink/fan combo. It appeared that there was no tape over the thermal material, but, I just thought it may have been a clear covering and tested the fit. When I tried to separate the heatsink from the board it required a bit of effort. My question is do I need to clean off the termal material or can I install it? If not, what do you use to clean the thermal compound from the CPU?

More about : amd thermal compound

December 9, 2001 7:19:30 PM

I just had the same experience. Retail XP-1600 with the included heatsink and fan. I concluded there was no tape, just thermal compound (sticky pink stuff). So I just slapped it on there. It seems to work fine.

Matt
December 9, 2001 7:48:02 PM

Your best bet is to clean off the sticky-goopy with some alcohol and a q-tip. Then get yourself down to Best Buy or somewhere and get a package of thermal grease. Put a teensy-tiny (about half the size of a grain of rice) amount on the CPU chip (the bigger shiny bit). Install the HSF being careful not to rock it. Boot up and start killin' the bad guys!

Even better get a tube of Arctic Silver and use that.

Dorr, Michigan (home)
Related resources
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 9, 2001 7:55:34 PM

Thanks bigrig. My concern was that I had put in on and then took it off. There appeared to be some of the compound on the heat sink and some on the CPU. I put it all back together, but am somewhat reluctant to power up given the posts on CPU's frying in less than 10 sec.
December 9, 2001 8:51:00 PM

if it is on right, it shouldnt fry...