Celeron 400 on ASUS P3B-F

G

Yeah, I know what you're thinking. WHAT THE HELL IS HE DOING, HAGNING ONTO THAT DINOSAUR! Well, it's not me. It's my stepdad. I personally enjoy the services of my Athlon 1.2 GHz system, but that's off the topic.

You see, I'm new to overclocking, although I am by no means new to the world of Computer Maintenance/Repair/Upgrading. Therefore as the "in-house PC Tech", my stepdad obviously turns to me for system upgrade reccommendations. Since he really can't afford a new system (which he desparately needs by now), he wants me to overclock his current one.

Specs:
------
CPU: Intel Celeron 400 MHz
MoBo: ASUS P3B-F
RAM: 512 MB Mixed PC 100/133 (Although I've got a sneaky suspicion there may be some '66 still hanging around in there.)

So, anyone care to help me?

girish

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
The board is a good one, if you have some budget of $170 then go for the Celeron 1.2 GHz on the Powerleap IP3T adapter and try to overclock it. If its a overkill (both in terms of cost and speed) then get a Celeron 800 as Crash says (see if your slotket adapter supports it, or you will have to do some compulsory overclocking and heavier cooling to reduce the effects of higher core voltage) and you will get a almost 2x faster system!

If you cannot, then clock the FSB to 75 MHz (CPU speed of 450 MHz) and see. Run the system for a hour or two and lok for any instability, temperatures going beyong 55°C or so. If not try 83 MHz FSB (500 MHz CPU core speed) and check for the same. If the temperature is high and you are experiencing lockups either 1. upgrade your cooler or 2. switch the FSB back to 75 and ask your dad if its enough.

girish

<font color=red>No system is fool-proof. Fools are Ingenious!</font color=red>

G

A 1.2 GHz on the P3B-F?!?! I can't even find jumper settings for anything higher than 600 MHz!!! What exactly is this "Powerleap IP3T adapter"?