Sign in with
Your question

BIOS flash boot disk

Last response: in Overclocking
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
December 16, 2001 12:19:11 AM

I have a new Soyo Dragon Plus motherboard and an Athlon XP 1700+ and I want to flash the BIOS, which I've never done before, and rather than learning the hard way, which I usually do, I want to sort things out first and maybe not screw up.

I have Windows XP and I'm not sure how it works with DOS but these are the instructions I'm trying to follow, which came with the BIOS release that I downloaded:

"Prepare an empty bootable disk. In order to do this, format a disk using the format a: /s command (use b: or other drive letter if appropriate). Make sure that there is nothing on the disk except for boot files. (The reason for doing this is that AWDFLASH, the utility used to upgrade the BIOS, does not allow ANY other program to be running in the background. A clean boot from floppy will reassure this is the case)"

Firstly, I don't know how to get into DOS other than by using the 'Command Prompt' window in XP's Accessories. I remember in W98 the 'DOS-in-a-window' deal wasn't quite the real thing and to do anything properly you had to boot into DOS. Is there any other way in Windows XP to boot into DOS before making a boot disk?

Secondly, according to my Complete Idiot's Guide to DOS, to make a bootable disk you need to use the format a: /s command and then copy config.sys and autoexec.bat. To my way of thinking, config.sys and autoexec.bat are boot files and without them it's not a bootable disk, so should I leave these off?

Thirdly, I've tried the format a: /s command (that's FORMAT space A colon space slash S) in the Command Prompt window (having changed directory to C:)  and I get 'Invalid parameter - /S'. It just doesn't seem to work.

Any suggestions appreciated.

More about : bios flash boot disk

Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
December 16, 2001 1:38:52 AM