Need Heatsink Recommendation for Intel 1.7g

G

I am new to building systems and just built a system with a Intel 1.7g processor. The idea of cooling keeping the processor cool is very new to me. I have noticed that my processor gets very hot with any kind of heavy use such as gaming. It spikes up to 75+ while being used. While the system is pretty much idle the temp is around 45. Is this normal or is my processor getting to hot while being used ?
I have installed the factory heatsink that came with the processor. Can anyone recommend a good heatsink for me. The board is an Intel845 chipset with 478pin. Thanks in advance for any help

Format

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2001
This seems to be a big and common problem with the P4 processors. Well the solution is easy though under the heatsink you will find an aluminium pad with a black compound on it, take this off and male sure the heatsink is clean then buy some good quality heat transfer compound and place the between the heatsink and processor. Then put every thing together and probelm solved.

G