S.T.A.L.K.E.R. bundle on steam. Worth it??

octoberhungry

Honorable
Apr 30, 2012
OK so I've never played any of the STALKER games and I see Steam are doing a deal for Shadow of Chernoby, Clear Sky and Call of Pripyat for $11.19 Earth dollars.

Now the thing is I have a backlog of games to play right now..I'm currently playing The Witcher 2 and Crysis 2. After that I've got Diablo 3, Metro 2033, Alan Wake & Company of Heroes all to play though.

So are the Stalker games worth adding to my queue or are they games you could miss and it's no biggie really. Looking ahead XCOM is coming out, Hitman etc. When am I ever gonna get time to play all these games! ha. Wish I was a student again sometimes!

Thanks.

Solution
i've played first one 3times, the second twice and the third once, i always start at the start again when there is a new one. So they are good if you like that kind of gameplay.

its an fps with resource management, perks, missions and a story.
i've played first one 3times, the second twice and the third once, i always start at the start again when there is a new one. So they are good if you like that kind of gameplay.

its an fps with resource management, perks, missions and a story.

Solution

octoberhungry

Honorable
Apr 30, 2012

Oh nice one! So I should install the complete mod pack (http://www.moddb.com/mods/stalker-complete-2009) and the patches .exe ? (http://stalker.filefront.com/file/;78884)

Also you recommend playing them in reverse order? Call of Pripyat, Clear Skies then Shadow of Chernobyl?

Final question; Do you rate the STALKER series over Metro 2033? I have both games just wondering which one i should go for first. Cheers!

metro is not in the same league for story. action and overall feel. frankly i found it boring and derivative. stalker on the other hand was everything i hoped and more.