USB, and help on server Linux setup?

G

I'm a newbie at linux, in fact I don't even have linux installed or even know what it looks like once its installed, but I have my hard drive all partioned correctly with 6gb for the Linux space and 400mb Linux swap partion, and a 22gb Win98SE OS partion. Now my question is when I install RH Linux 7 will my mouse work? I have a USB Microsoft optical Intellimouse Explorer, it runs off the USB port but also has the PS/2 adapter I use the USB version because I think its better performance in games and such plus it just feels smoother, or maybe I just think it does....anyways I was wondering do i need to go dig out that PS/2 converter to use my mouse in Linux or is there native support for it? Or is there any easy support for it, and even if USB is supported will I be able to succesfully install and/or use my Intellimoouse at all? Also furthermore I have a question about setting up a server computer, in a couple months once I get a grip on Linux I'm gonna build a Linux dedicated game/webpage/FTP server box (any suggestions on the destro I should use, is Red Hat good or is there one that's a lot better for game server), I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on the system specs for that currently I'm thinking about a 1ghz athlon, 20gb harddrive, 512 PC133 ram, any suggestions or changes, basically I want to know what can I run on this server comfortably without being shot for performance, I want to try and run a 16max person Counter-Strike game server and a 12 person Quake3 server, this will be on a T1 line...will those system specs handle it comfortably, or should I just go with one server also if I got with just one game running as a server would I be able to comfortably host a web server or an FTP without running into to much of a performance shot?

ejsmith2

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
Whew! I need some paragraphs in there so I can keep track of where I am.....getting old is tough.