Another Newbie Seeking Help

cubicl

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2002
I started to dabble in the forbidden arts of overclocking 2 days ago (after being inspired by THG's ‘HowTo’ guide) and I have some questions regarding issues that the guide mentioned, but not in detail. I really hope that someone can answer them as they have been bugging me for the last 2 days.

I am running a PIII 733 on a Gigabyte board (VIA 694X AGPset I have absolutely no idea what that means). It has those very friendly blue DIP switches which I progressively increased the bus speed from 133 to 140 to 150. The machine booted up smoothly at 150MHz to give 824MHz (1MHz less but who cares). I was so happy and tried office applications and they all worked fine. But it just shut down when I started playing MOHAA. So I tuned down to 140 and everything ran smoothly. But I was not satisfied and vaguely remembered that an article mentioned that it helps by turning down the CL from 2 to 3, and I tried just that. It's working fine and I'm typing this post now after some Battle Realms.

So back to what’s bothering me. I read in the BIOS tuning guide that decreasing the CL actually lowers your performance. So my question is:
1. Am I actually getting a performance gain by running at a higher clock speed but lower CL?
2. How does CL actually affect the performance of a system?
3. Am I better off running 770MHz (140 x 5.5) at CL 2 or 825MHz at CL 3?

More doubts and questions:
1. What is the ‘safe’ operating temperature of a CPU? The Gigabyte Utility Manager that came with the MB monitors things like temperature, core voltage etc. The default setting was 92°C before a warning message pops up, so I assume that my current 31-48°C is OK.(?)
2. Which benchmark test is better and gives a more rounded performance figure? I would like to give it a shot but there are so many of them...

Thanks in advance to anyone who can answer my doubts.

CMRvet

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2001
Hi,