Will Windows 8 make Linux the new gaming OS?

JimmoR3M

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2012
I was just browsing over this article from BBC Tech news: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-18996377

I'd love to hear your opinions on wether or not Windows 8 will make Linux the new gaming OS? It's pretty clear when it comes to PC gaming that Windows has always been the top dog OS as very few publishers even glance at Mac or Linux users when it comes to releasing on those platforms.

Taking into account the facts the Linux is open source, 'free' and the fact Gabe Newell has said "We want to make it as easy as possible for the 2,500 games on Steam to run on Linux as well," I'd love to know that if Linux did start getting fully supported from other big publishers, who here would love to see that happen? Who would not?

Well, here's the problems I anticipate with Linux becoming a major OS for gaming:

1. too many different distros (I'm not an expert on that field, but this is exactly what discouraged me so far to even bother to try linux)
2. I thought Linux boys took pride in the fact that there's no gaming support on linux, ie linux is for IT pros and working tasks and such
3. While publishers might want to look at linux as a gaming platform, linux's biggest problem is driver support - nvidia isn't bothering to provide full support to this day afaik

JimmoR3M

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2012
With 1. You are spot on I think. But if Ubuntu became the standard (already kind of is) that might look a little less discoraging.

With 2. Yeah, alot of other Linux guys are looking to get some gaming support (most Linux users being sick of Windows) and have to resort to Retro Gaming. Don't get me wrong, the Original Street fighter is good, but I couldn't deal with that as my 'main' game.

With 3. I think if the publishers sway that way, the hardware support will too, otherwise they'd just go flat out of business or at the very least suffers tremendous sale losses.