Securing a Coolermaster Heatsink & Fan

G

I have a Coolermaster HCC 002 Delta Heat Sink & Fan for my XP1900+ on a Abit KT7-A Motherboard, which is in a tower case so mounted sideways.

The heat sink is very heavy and is only secured by a single clip either side of the CPU. I've heard stories of big heat sinks falling off without people realising and them frying the CPU. I'm worried about this happening to me.

Does anyone have any suggestions how I better secure the heat sink and fan to stop this happening?

Thanks

Did it hurt your fingers to put it on?

If so, imagine how much pressure is on the retaining clips. It shouldn't fall off. Do you bump your system around a lot?

<b><font color=blue>~ Whew! Finished...Now all I need is a Cyrix badge ~ </font color=blue> :wink: </b>

niconx

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Yea i have heard the same thing, but how in the world could a heatsink fall off? I mean if you took the least bit of care in making sure the clip is actually clipped, it just cant happen, it breaks the laws of physics LOL. The only thing i can guess is if the clip is excessively tight and you have a way oversized heatsink then the plastic clip holder thingy on the socket breaks off. The max amd spec for a heatsink+fan is 300 grams. Most overclocking sinks weight more then this, and im sure yours does because its copper. Keep in mind AMD set this spec because people like fedex and UPS abuse the computer in transit. I have taken more computers in my car then i could even count and not one has ever had a heatsink fall off.